Site Requires Flash Player and JavaScript (on) for optimal viewing.

bypass the detection
Figure Skating

Star-studded lineup to compete at 2010 Skate America in Portland

    Medalists from three of the four disciplines at the 2010 Olympic Winter Games will take the ice at 2010 Skate America, to be held Nov. 11-14 at the Rose Garden.

    Leading the way are American ice dancers Meryl Davis and Charlie White, who captured the silver in Vancouver. The pairs field is highlighted by two-time World champions and Olympic bronze medalists Aliona Savchenko and Robin Szolkowy of Germany. Reigning World champion and Olympic bronze medalist Daisuke Takahashi of Japan will shoot for his third Skate America title; he previously won the gold at the event in 2005 and 2007.

    Other international competitors of note are 2008 World silver medalist Carolina Kostner of Italy, 2010 World bronze medalist Laura Lepistö of Finland and 2006 Skate America champion Nobunari Oda of Japan.

    Three of the four reigning U.S. champions will compete in Portland as well. In addition to Davis and White, who have won the last two U.S. ice dancing titles, Rachael Flatt and pairs team Caydee Denney and Jeremy Barrett will take the ice.

    The competition is presented by U.S. Figure Skating, the Oregon Sports Authority and the Rose Garden, with support from Travel Portland. The Rose Garden also served as the site of the 2005 State Farm U.S. Figure Skating Championships.

    2010 Skate America is the fourth of six competitions in the International Skating Union (ISU) Grand Prix of Figure Skating Series. Entries for all six events were announced Sunday, June 13 and can be viewed at

    All-event ticket packages for 2010 Skate America are on sale now. Tickets can be purchased online at, by phone by calling 877.789.ROSE (7673) or in person at the Rose Quarter Box Office.


    Amelie Lacoste (Canada)
    Laura Lepistö (Finland)
    Mae Berenice Meite (France)
    Elene Gedevanishvili (Georgia)
    Jenna McCorkell (Great Britain)
    Carolina Kostner (Italy)
    Kanako Murakami (Japan)
    Min-Jung Kwak (Republic of Korea)
    Viktoria Helgesson (Sweden)
    Rachael Flatt (United States)
    Caroline Zhang (United States)
    TBA (United States)

    Viktor Pfeifer (Austria)
    Kevin van der Perren (Belgium)
    Shawn Sawyer (Canada)
    Nan Song (China)
    Daisuke Murakami (Japan)
    Nobunari Oda (Japan)
    Daisuke Takahashi (Japan)
    Denis Ten (Kazakhstan)
    Adrian Schultheiss (Sweden)
    Stephen Carriere (United States)
    Adam Rippon (United States)
    TBA (United States)

    Kristen Moore-Towers/Dylan Moscovitch (Canada)
    Wenjing Sui/Cong Han (China)
    Aliona Savchenko/Robin Szolkowy (Germany)
    Stacey Kemp/David King (Great Britain)
    Ksenia Stolbova/Fedor Klimov (Russia)
    Caydee Denney/Jeremy Barrett (United States)
    Keauna McLaughlin/Rockne Brubaker (United States)
    TBA (United States)

    Ice Dancing
    Vanessa Crone/Paul Poirier (Canada)
    Kaitlyn Weaver/Andrew Poje (Canada)
    Stefanie Frohberg/Tim Giesen (Germany)
    Alexandra Zaretski/Roman Zaretski (Israel)
    Anna Cappellini/Luca Lanotte (Italy)
    Cathy Reed/Chris Reed (Japan)
    Ekaterina Riazanova/Ilia Tkachenko (Russia)
    Meryl Davis/Charlie White (United States)
    Maia Shibutani/Alex Shibutani (United States)
    TBA (United States)

    — June 21, 2010


    Watch our two minute video to learn more about the Oregon Sports Authority's efforts to promote the state as a premier sports destination.


    Sign up to receive a monthly update with the latest Oregon sports news and event information, plus get exclusive access to ticket discounts!



    Requires Flash Player and JavaScript (on) for optimal viewing.


    latest news

    eUpdate – PK80, IndyCar Coming to Portland, Congrats to the Thorns, Cirque du Soleil Crystal

    In the summer of 2012, Michigan State athletic director Mark Hollis began to form plans for an unprecedented 16-team men’s...

    eUpdate – Oregon Sports Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, Disaster Relief, Street Soccer USA and New Members

    The Oregon Sports Hall of Fame will induct a class of six new members during its annual induction ceremony on...

    eUpdate – Little League Softball, WinCo Foods Portland Open, Cambia Portland Classic

    Little League softball teams from the U.S., Canada, the Philippines, Czech Republic and Puerto Rico are in Portland this week...

    find out what's new and

    what's next in oregon sports!

    follow the oregon sports authority on

    Twitter      Facebook